Cooking Chinese: Fried Rice

27 03 2010

So this is super long over due. If not for the fact that I’m in hermit mode AND bored out of my mind I’d still be putting this off.

This is how I like to make my fried rice. It turns out golden (yellow) and smells delicious. You can cook this up in bulk and store it for a couple of days as you slowly eat through it, perfect for students! It even has all the food groups in it! =)

Ingredients:
1) Veggies that aren’t liquidy like tomatoes – I used celery, mushroom, and a bag of mixed veggies from the Green Giant which contained green beans, corn, carrots and peas.
2) Meat – I always use bacon for the smoky flavour it has. Other stuff I use depending on what I bought would be ham, cured turkey leg, Italian sausages, and the like. I don’t recommend any other uncooked meat other than bacon because it’s annoying to cook.
3) Cooked rice
4) Eggs – enough to coat your rice in
5) oil, black pepper, salt etc.

*The amount really varies depending on your preference. Guestimate the ratios you’d like to consume everything in and you’ll be fine.

And now:
1) Chop up your veggies and meat into cube or square shapes (bacon cannot be cubed). You can see that I didn’t do that for the mushrooms because they shrink. And I forgot. But they’re soft so it’s okay.

2) Fry all your veggies and meat, separately. I cooked the bacon first, took it out then in went the mushrooms. Then the celery, which are undercooked because I was starving. If you’re using frozen ones like I am, boil them and count that as cooked. Once everything is done, set them aside and deal with the rice.
3) Beat a couple of eggs and smush it all into the rice, yolk and all. It’s what makes the fried rice ‘golden’. Make sure you have enough eggs in it that your rice has no more white parts, but not too many that it’s.. gooey.

4) Then, fry the rice until the egg looks cooked and dump all your veggies in.

5) Stir around and put in all the things you want, like copious amounts of black pepper, the reason there’s lots of black dots in my fried rice. I don’t put a lot of salt in because the cured meats and bacon are all really salty and I usually use this as an upgraded version of plain rice. Plain rice isn’t salted so why should this be?

All Done! Yum! This is really simple and really fast. Also gets rid of bacon that you can’t consume fast enough if you’re living on your own. =D

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

