‘poo is Poop!

13 12 2009

Recently I noticed that my hair goes from extremely dry after shampooing to unbelievably greasy in under 24hrs so I started looking for better ways to clean my hair without taking away all the oils and forcing my scalp to produce extra.

With black hair, even a little bit of oils looks super gross, and having very short hair only emphasizes the issue. If you don’t believe me about the grease being more noticeable on black hair, go people watching or ask the people around you. My blonde friends sometimes go up to 4-5 days without washing their hair (only when cramming for exams of course) and it’s barely noticeable with the way the light hits their lighter coloured hair (that is also likely to be full of various shades). The natural depth of colour really changes how your hair looks.

Anyways, I’ve been wanting to go without shampoo for a while now but with living in rez and seeing your friends everyday, there’s no way I’d subject these poor people to seeing my greasy hair during the transition period. That’s just evil.

Fortunately, there’s a 10-day gap between my exams and I’m now home for 4 of them. After Googling about 10 bazillion sites, I whipped up a liquidy solution of baking soda and water and smushed that into my hair.

The result? Well, when I was rinsing it, I noticed that my hair felt clean and soft, but not that squeaky, super dry feeling when I use shampoo. When I rubbed my fingers into my scalp, it still has that weird… scalpy smell that I always associated with dirt and grease, but much less so. So much less that it’s smelling like what I think is the natural smell of scalp.

When I shake my head to smell my hair (because my hair’s too short to bring to my nose), something smells really nice. What?

I think it’s actually the residue scent from my last shampoo, 2 nights ago (yeah yeah, I slacked off last night), which is kind of surprising because a) it was two nights ago and b) what’d they put in my shampoo to make the smell last so long?!

Actual appearance-wise, my hair doesn’t look greasy, but it doesn’t look shiny and clean either. I can’t tell if my hair is too layered to reflect light properly or my hair quality has gone down the tubes, but I kinda look like a shaggy dog. I guess that was to be expected since it was the first time and I was missing the apple cider vinegar step but hmm…

All the recipes for natural things I found and will probably try:

Skin Astringents:
Vodka and Tea
Mix 1 part vodka with 9 parts strong chamomile or mint tea.

Shampoo:
Dissolve 1 tbspn of baking soda to make a paste.
Also try the following essential oils; tea tree, lavender, rosemary added to your baking soda if you wish.
Apply this to your roots only; work it in and let it sit for a minute.
Then work it through the rest of your scalp, giving yourself a massage as you go.
Next, pour 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar into a cup and add water.

Hair masks:
Yogurt hair mask
Separate an egg and beat the white until it’s foamy.
Mix with 3 tablespoons of natural yogurt.
Massage into the hair and leave for 15 – 30 minutes.
Wash out with baking soda.

Milk and honey mask
Mix a tablespoon of honey in half a cup of full fat milk.
Apply to your hair and leave for 15 minutes. Wash out with a mild shampoo.

Herbal Rinses:
Honey shine rinse
1 teaspoon of honey
4 cups of warm water.
Mix and make sure it’s well dissolved.
Use as a rinse after shampooing and don’t wash out.

Orange rinse for shiny hair
Juice of a fresh orange
1 tablespoon of honey
5 – 7 drops of sandalwood oil for a musk smell or use other essential oils of your choice.
Dilute with enough water to make a rinse – about a pint – and mix thoroughly.
Use after your shampoo and then barely rinse out.

Try some of these out. They’re easy and if they do work, will be much better for you than commercial stuff.

Actions

Information

One response

15 12 2009
obesekittens

People seem to be visiting this page a lot.

Who are you? How’d you find me? Leave me a message! =)

Leave a Reply

